Root » News » DRCK News
Apr 18

Written by: DRCK News
4/18/2011 2:15 PM  RssIcon

Latest update: Hemal moves to the top position: Sunday Obsever 4/24/2011

There is a stiff competition between Hemal Munaweera, the Dharmaraja College captain and K. Gamage of Vidyartha for the top spot as the Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer (Outstation).

The first winner from Kandy was none other than the spin wizard Muthtaih Muralitharan who won the award in 1991 followed by another Katugasthota Antonian Sajith Fernando in 1992. Muralitharan retired from International cricket recently. Sajith Fernando should consider himself a bit unlucky for not representing the country at the highest level, although he had captained many ‘A’ team tours.

Kaushal Weeraratne is the only Trinitian to win the coveted award. Weeraratne played with the World Cup cricket captain Kumar Sangakkara, while at Trinity. Weeraratne played for Sri Lanka in ODIs. He is also a fine rugby player who excelled as a winger.

This year’s run for the Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer (All-Island) looks to be a three cornered tussle between three of the most talented players - the two Royalists Ramith Rambukwella and Bhanuka Rajapakse who won the contest last year. There is also another prolific wicket taker in the season Sachitra Perera. Sachitra, missed the selection for the Sri Lanka Under-19 team against their England counterparts by a whisker after taking over 100 wickets for the season, but Bhanuka Rajapakse who captained the team made a mint of runs while Rambukwella proved his worth whenever he was given the opportunity.

Sunday Observer)

Tags: Cricket
Location: Blogs Parent Separator DRCK News
is a voluntarily led organization incorporated in the State of Maryland since February 2009 and has Tax Exempt Status in the US as defined by Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

DAANA Constitution
 Email :
oldrajans @ 
 Address : DAANA
  8212 Red Gate Ct
MD 20715 - USA